Sunday, August 3, 2014


Jerusalem is the ancient and eternal capital of the Jewish people and Jews have lived in their capital, almost continuously, since the time King David made it so over 3000 years ago.

Jewish victims of the 1920 Nebi Musa Massacre- Jerusalem’s ancient community was deemed fair game

Jewish victims of the massacres in Jerusalem, 1920

Jews fleeing the Arab pogroms in Jerusalem, 1929

Jews fleeing the Arab pogroms in Jerusalem, 1936

In 1949, in the aftermath of the War of Independence when 5 regular Arab armies invaded, Israel was forced to divide Jerusalem between it and Jordan with Jordan taking the eastern half of the city along with its ancient Jewish Quarter and cemetery. It remained in this situation until the Six Day War of 1967 when Israel reunified the city. During the intervening period, eastern Jerusalem was ethnically cleansed of its Jews and Jews were banned from visiting their holy places, namely the Western Wall; the old Jewish Quarter was almost totally obliterated, and the ancient cemetery on the Mount of Olives was desecrated with its tombstones being used as building materials in road work and for making latrines.

Jewish refugees fleeing the Arab onslaughts in eastern Jerusalem during the War of Independence, 1948

Bird's-eye view of the Jewish Quarter of Jerusalem during the Arab occupation, 1948-1967

Today, Jews can, once again, live in the eastern half of the city. But on the other hand, they also have to contend daily with Arab violence against them, especially around the Jewish cemetery on the Mount of Olives. The Israeli police don’t seem very interested in making the area a secure place for Jews.

No comments:

Post a Comment